2010 GT Experiencing a Flat Spot/Bog

Road_Trip

Reaction score
New to the forum and just getting back into Mustang's after quite a long spell without one. I've had 4 Fox bodies and an 03 Cobra in the past, so I'm not a total noob when it comes to finding my way around a car.

Just bought a 2010 GT coupe, manual transmission and 3.73's, with 27,600 miles on it 2 weeks ago. Drove it home 700 miles the day I bought it and loved it, but noticed something a little odd. While having the cruise set, if I was anywhere around 2100 rpm or so, and I'd hit a slight incline, the car would struggle to maintain speed and then all of a sudden surge to the set speed. Seemed odd at the time, but the car ran great otherwise. It did this the entire trip home. Fast forward to the day after I got home and I noticed anytime I was in the 2100-2400 rpm range, it really bogged or felt like a flat spot when trying to accelerate, in any gear. Best way to describe it is turbo lag, despite being n/a. I'd hit the gas, anticipate the acceleration and it would take a couple of seconds to really get it going and out of that RPM range. 2500 rpm and up, no issues, regardless of gear. Starting from a dead stop, no issues getting up to that range and then it just kinda slugs through it.

I've got a fuel filter and plugs waiting to go in it this week, but I don't think that's the issues. It seems to pull fine through the power band once I'm above 2300-2400 give or take. I've pulled the mass air meter and cleaned it out. Hooked up the scanner and it has 0 codes and 0 previous codes. To my knowledge, the car does not have a tune. Appears to only have a catback, Air Raid CAI, and slightly lowered on 19's. Car idles great, cruises great on the highway and surface streets, just has the dead/flat spot/bog/sluggishness.

Any ideas what could be causing this? Any help is appreciated!

Thanks!

Midlife Crises

Reaction score