New Used S550 or???

What car would you want to drive in the PNW rain if you already had a WRX?

• 11-14 GT

Votes: 10 27.0%
  • 15+ GT

Votes: 24 64.9%
  • 08+ Evo X

Votes: 3 8.1%

• Total voters

DV8

Reaction score
Hello S197 forums,

I'm a new guy to mustangs and I've spent a few months poking around on here, SVT forums and a few others trying to learn about the S197 GTs and S550s to try and make my decision easier when I'm going to purchase a new ride sometime this next year.

The reason I'm making this thread is simple, I'm requesting experiences and thoughts from folks who have gone from an S197 GT to an S550 GT or from an Evo X to either, or from either to an Evo X.

So here's the meat of my quandry:

1. Currently own an upgraded 350 whp WRX wagon which I will be keeping

2. Currently own a 370 whp Rotrex supercharged civic Si 4 door which I will be selling

3. Long time GF has the responsible car

4. Want something fun and impractical that I've never tried before that's new enough to not need loads of maintenance.

5. Will take the car to occasional track day, maybe 1-2 drags a year

6. Will use in tandem with my WRX to commute ~30 miles a day round trip

7. I'm looking for a Brembo equipped GT model, with Recaros possible

8. I will be doing an intake header and exhaust on whatever with a tune, would enjoy a paxton 2200 I think, but I don't want the liability of my WRX being high strung and my second car as well. Would probably aim for 450 whp, some weight loss and some RE11s.

9. I'm cheap, or trying to be, so I'm hoping to spend:
    • around 30-34k for a LIGHTLY used S550
    • around 20-24k for a LIGHTLY used S197
    • around 24-28k for a used Evo X

Here's the pros and cons I can think of for each car I'm considering:

11-14 Mustang GT Pros

1. Coyote motor
  2. 400 whp stock, ~450 with bolt ons
  3. clutch, rear diff, other basic maintenance looks simple
  4. mean 1/4 mile
  5. stupid cheap prices with VERY low mileage
  6. Very large aftermarket