Thinking of doing coolant flush

Pruitoverdrive

Reaction score
Hello
New here, owned a manual 07 Gt for a little over a year now. First car that I've owned where I can do "work" on it. Studying for an engineering degree currently and I'd say I know my way around most mechanical things in a car. Have been interested and educating myself on vehicles for years now and finally I have the opportunity to work with them.

I've been looking at all the videos and forum posts about doing a radiator flush which I know I have to do soon. I'd say I'm 60-75% confident in being able to do something like this. The other reason I want to do it myself is to save the money rather than taking it to a shop- I am a broke college student and had a minor $2k accident already this summer.

Here's the process I would take:
1. Jack up car
2. Open coolant reservoir on top.
3. Drain all liquid from Petcock valve at the bottom of radiator*
4. Fill with Prestone Total Fluid System Cleaner and appropriate amount of distilled water.
5 With heat all the way up run car for 1-2 hours.
6 Drain from petcok
7 Fill with distilled water, run, drain. A few times
8 Fill with appropriate coolant/water ratio
9 Run, drain, and if I can get my hands on a coolant tester, test liquid and keep adding appropriate liquid.
10 Pinch various radiator hoses and try to get all air out**

Any guidance or perspectives on this project would be much appreciated. Thank you for your time.

Feel absolutely free to correct me if I'm wrong about something

* If Im correct this won't drain nearly all the fluid because most of it is in the block.
** This is the part that's keeping me up at night

Samos3

Reaction score