Stock K Brace on Auto S197's?

702GT

S197 Fanatic
Reaction score
I was changing the oil on the girlfriends '07 Auto GT and immediately noticed she didn't have a K member brace. Did auto's come with them as well or only stick cars?

The K member has the position and holes for the studs to run through. I've never worked on a S197 Auto before, so I'm not sure. Judging from the road grime build up, I'd say that if it had a brace, it hasn't been there for a while, if it is supposed to have one.

o2sys

forum member
Reaction score
My 07 didn't come with it either. Bought one on eBay for $2

o2sys

forum member
Reaction score
Trash? Why? Aren't these better than the top strut bars?

702GT

S197 Fanatic
Reaction score

No luck, didn't see anything about the K-member brace. Or is that your point?

My 07 didn't come with it either. Bought one on eBay for $2

I may go this route. I considered a CHE for her, but in an auto I can't justify having the drive train vibration transfer.

My 07 manual vert had one, went right in the trash lol

Considering you have more piping than a submarine under your hood, I'm not surprised lol.

Trash? Why? Aren't these better than the top strut bars?

Because he has more piping than a submarine under his hood, and the brace eats up space where WHOOSH pipe can go! Strut tower braces perform a different function than a K-member brace. Most of its function is clearance woes, the remaining function is improved chassis stiffening in corners.

JeremyH

3V Fuel Guru
S197 Team Member
Reaction score
Haha, that and I have an aftermarket K member. I didn't see any need for it anyway.

crownaviation

http://www.tudyno.com/
Reaction score
My 07 manual vert had one, went right in the trash lol

Lol.. so did my 07 vert.. and so did mine (trash)